New Mexico Nursing Excellence Awards

The New Mexico Nursing Excellence Awards recognize excellence in nursing practice and honor nurses for the contributions they make to their organizations, communities and the state. There are three types of awards:

• Nursing Excellence Awards recognize excellence in practice and leadership in 20 specialty categories plus the Distinguished Nurse of the Year Award.
• The Nursing Legend Award recognizes retired nurses who have made significant contributions to the nursing profession.
• The “Touch a Life” Award celebrates the special bond between patient and nurse. This award was created to give patients, families and communities an opportunity to recognize a nurse that has touched their lives in a meaningful way.

Congratulations to each of the following Lovelace Health System nurses who were nominated for a
New Mexico Nursing Excellence Award.

Lovelace Medical Center

Yolanda Alcantar
Meghan Arends
Jason Bowman
Catherine Fleming
Jonah Gable
Elizabeth Hogan
Meisha Hunt
Katie LaGarde
Bhuti Lhupchug
Maria Mendoza
Franchesca Montanez
Lillian Mowery
Sandra Petersen
Sylvia Prunier
Jamie Sandoval
Cynthia Vandi
Janice Venters
David Zarikta

Heart Hospital of NM @ LMC

Elaine Lynn
Carolyn Martin
Andrew Montoya
Joseph Perry
Paul Seeley
Susan Speed
Richard Wolfe

Lovelace Rehabilitation Hospital

Yvonne Phay

Lovelace Westside Hospital

Felicia Davis
Sheila McLeod
Joyce Sillador
Catherine Sitzler
Cheryl Sundheimer

Lovelace Women’s Hospital

Shafagh Banihashemi
Warren Bowers
Alan Fleischauer
Irma Flores
Gigi Gallardo
Allison Karrels
Connie Peters
Clare Santistevan
Laurie Shirai-Akau

All the nominees will be honored at an award dinner on Saturday, Oct. 20, at Hyatt Regency Tamaya.

News and Events